​Goilala ballot boxes arrive at venue

There they will be kept until counting starts on Thursday (July 13).

The last box arrived late yesterday, according to Returning Officer Theodore Maia.

Maia said today they will be doing the summary and tomorrow the brief-in for counting officials and scrutineers.

Counting for Goilala Open and Central regional from the district will begin this week.

​Kairuku-Hiri counting delayed

Counting was scheduled to take place at the Bomana CIS gym today however, due to the arrival of the final polling team last night from Mekeo, counting has been delayed.

The polling team from Mekeo is now waiting for the returning officer to address them.

Counting officials are yet to arrive at the counting venue.

Security personnel consisting of police, defence force and correctional officers are guarding the two containers of ballot boxes at the counting venue.

Scrutineers are also presently guarding the ballot boxes.

COUNTING: Moresby-South’s progressive result – after count 96

Moresby South - after count 96

COUNTING: WNB’s progressive results

WNBP Regional - after count 6




COUNTING: ENB’s progressive results

COUNTING: Namatanai Open progressive results - after count 10

Schnaubelt collected 1,976 more votes after the counting of the ballot boxes from the Namatanai LLGs.

After count 7, Schnaubelt was leading with 4659 votes and has now extended his lead by 1,976 votes after count 8, 9 and 10.

Schnaubelt’s progressive total after count 10 is 6635 votes and in second place is incumbent Open Member for Namatanai James Byron Chan on 5189 votes.

Coming in at 3rd place is Leonard Tonggo from Pangu Party on 35 votes, 4th place is Independent candidate Kiapgugu Ignatius Matius on 23 votes followed by Pastor Chan Philip on 17 votes.

Progressive results for Moresby North West seat: After count 30

The progressive results as of 9am this morning after count 30 are; Lohia Boe Samuel 3,612 votes, Sir Mekera Morauta  on second place with 1,700 votes, Miria Ikupu is running third with 1, 589 votes, followed by Russell Wavik at 1,416 votes in fourth place.

Sitting MP, Michael Malabag has been ousted from the top 5 category and has been replaced by Joseph Tonde with 1, 019 votes.

Count 31 is about to go into motion now.

Results will be posted on a later update.

NCD regional progressive results - after count 63

The count currently stands at 64.

Progressive results as of 9am has seen some changes in the top 5 running candidates.

Powes Parkop is still in the lead with 6,686 votes, Andy Bawa with 3,229 votes and Michael Kandiu with 3,081 votes. 

Robert Agen and Jamie Maxton Graham have both dropped out of the top 5 category.

ENB Police to monitor counting venues

A total of 290 Security personal, including the Rapid Response Unit will be assisting to provide security at the five counting venues.

EÑB Provincial Police Commander, Joseph TABALI, says his security officers are ready and set to ensure counting runs well without any major security concerns.

He further added that a total of four arrests have been made in relation to the election during the polling period in the province.

Tabali has assured police presence to be at the counting venues for the open and regional seats.

ENBP counting update

Counting teams will commence night shift at the Regional Count centre before rolling out to other count venues.

DAY 1 results (Preliminary Results)

ENB Regional Seat- after Count 1

- Sir Leo Dion – 291

- Sinai Brown – 287

- Gershon Passingan – 151

Counting resumes today at Kokopo Secondary School

Gazelle Open- After Count 3

- Bernard Lukara – 918

- Malakai Tabar – 908

- Urai Henry – 41

Counting resumes today at St Mary's Vuvu.