Australian Indigenous

​Barras lose final 50 over match

The Barras batted first and were bowled out for a 226 runs in 48.3 overs.

Captain Assad Vala top scored for the Barras with 43 runs, while Dogodo Bau (36), Lega Siaka (32), Mahuru Dai (31) and Vani Vagi Morea (22) all chipped in with some runs in the top to middle order.

D’Arcy Short did the damage with the ball for Australian Indigenous finishing with (5/34).

The Australian Indigenous side encountered little trouble chasing down the target reaching it inside 34 overs.

Barras draw with Australian Indigenous

The hosts took the bat first finishing at 5/278, mostly thanks to an unbeaten 124 runs from opener Damon Egan.

Mahuru Dai 2/30, Chad Soper, Alei Nao and Damian Ravu all picked up a wicket each for the Barras.

In their pursuit, the Barras run chase started off on the wrong foot, losing openers Tony Ura (0) and Lega Siaka (15).

Vani Vagi Morea (53) and captain Assad Vala (78) put on 91 runs for the third wicket to steer the Barras back on course.

It looked bleak for the Barras, who slouched to 7/217 in the 42nd over.

Barras lose by 84 runs

Australian Indigenous blasted their way to set a mammoth target, finishing at 9/347 after batting out the full fifty overs.

Runs came from openers Dary Short (86) and Damon Eagon (77) plus other contributions from Ben Abbatanglo (75) and Cameron Trask (45).

The best with the ball for the Barras was Chad Soper (3/60) while John Boge Reva (2/36) and Nosiana Pokana (2/48) also picked up wickets.

The Barras struggled from the start, slumping to 3/28 after seven overs.