Australian Country Cricket Championships

EAP pick up a win and a loss

EAP’s first match (that was reduced to 5 overs due to rain) was against New South Wales at Hollymount Park East.

New South Wales batted first and finished at 3/37. Kaine Harmsworth (19) top scored.

The PNG boys in Aleai Nao (1/10) and Pipi Raho (27) were the wicket takers for EAP.

The run chase for was completed with one ball to spare, giving EAP a six wicket win. Andrew Mansale was the key figure in the win, hitting 19 runs.

EAP records first win at Australian cricket champs

A delay from the rain resulted in the match being reduced to 11 overs.

Victoria batted first and finished their innings at 4-84. Big scores came from Taylor Beard (27) runs Cole Roscholler (24).

Despite the loss of three early wickets, EAP managed to reach the target in the ninth over with Hiri Hiri (14) hitting the winning runs.

Andrew Mansale top scored for EAP with 28 runs.

This was EAP’s first win at the 2017 championships and their first win in three years.

Photo credit:

EAP lose second match of Australian cricket champs

EAP won the toss and made the decision to bat first hoping to set a competitive target for the opposition.

The opening pair of Kipling Doriga (7) and Dogodo Bau (12) again failed to get things going and EAP soon found themselves in similar waters from their first match.

Despite some fight from Nalin Nipiko (48) and Hiri Hiri (27), EAP were eventually all bowled out inside 43 overs for 147.

South Australia’s Andrew Frick was the thorn in EAP’s side finishing the innings with 3/36.

EAP lose to Queensland Country

EAP won the toss at Keira Oval and made the decision to bat first.

The two openers from PNG in Kiping Doriga (4) and Dogodo Bau (16) didn’t last long, leaving EAP at 2/18 early on in the innings.

Wickets continued to fall and EAP found themselves all out for 154 after 43 overs bowled.

PNG’s Hiri Hiri top scored for EAP with 38 runs while Justin Dixon was the top bowler for his side with 3/29.

Queensland Country reached the target with ease in the 33rd over for the loss of only 2 wickets, thanks to an unbeaten knock of 49 from Tony Hampson.