2019 Referendum

Aust observer team for Bougainville referendum

Former Federal Parliamentarian, Jane Prentice, will lead Australia’s team, which also includes serving Federal MPs Ken O’Dowd and Sharon Claydon.

The team includes former Federal MPs, Ewen Jones, Harry Jenkins and Gai Brodtmann, current NSW Parliamentarians, Shayne Mallard and Gregory Donnelly, former senior diplomats James Batley and Ann Harrap, and former Assistant Commissioner of the Australian Electoral Commission, Marie Neilson.

Detailed breakdown of referendum roll released

Chief Referendum Officer Mauricio Claudio said the total of 206,731 enrolled, when broken down by constituency, reflected the most extensive and inclusive enrolment processes of Bougainvilleans ever conducted.

Upfront agreement on referendum outcome needed

They also recommend that that these steps to be documented and signed off so that the people are clear about how the outcome will be implemented before the vote.

PNG National Research Institute (NRI) Director, Dr Osborne Sanida, said this during the recent launching of the report.

Church neutral on Referendum: Bishop

Bishop Bernard was speaking to members of the Our Lady of Assumption Parish Congregation at Hahela on Sunday.

He said it was crucial for a peaceful post referendum transition period.

“We’ll not tell you to vote for independence or vote for autonomy. We’ll only support whatever the outcome is – independence or autonomy,” he told the congregation.

He further said as the Bishop, he will not let his church get involved in politics as it was the work of the government.