2019 Digicel Cup

Four Digicel Cup teams remain

This weekend will be the major and minor semi-finals.

Agmark Rabual Gurias were the first team to be eliminated by the Kroton Hela Wigmen in the upset of the first week of the finals.

Returning after a two-year suspension, the Mt Hagen Eagles were also kicked out by the defending champions, the Goroka Lahanis.

This week the major final will see the top two teams from the regular competition, the Lae Tigers and the Waghi Tumbe, clash for the first spot in the grand final.

Successful kick-off

Twelve teams played in last weekend’s kick off games across the nation in Port Moresby, Lae, Kimbe, Mount Hagen and Mendi – all vying for the championship title.

Digicel PNG Senior Vice President Lorna McPherson said: “Rugby league is not just a sport, it’s a way of life for many Papua New Guineans who follow the game with great passion.

“Digicel Cup competition gives fans the opportunity to access and watch high level rugby games and experience the excitement of all games plus support their teams.

Four bids for 2019 Digicel Cup

PNGNRLC Manager, Stanley Hondina, says as of the deadline on October 26th, 2018, only four bids had been submitted.

The bids include:

  • Central Dabari
  • Kimbe Cutters
  • Hagen Eagles
  • Kera Doa (also from Mt Hagen)

Hondina said the PNGNRLC Board has yet to set a date to meet and deliberate on the bids.

However, the 2019 Digicel Cup Competition will be announced before the end of November with the successful bids.

Hondina previously said two possible spots could be open for the 2019 competition.