2017 Digicel Cup

Tigers are 2017 Digicel Cup champions!

The classy Lae Snax Tigers' halfback slotted through a 91st minute golden point field goal to beat the Agmark Rabaul Gurias 11-10 in this afternoon’s grand final at the Sir John Guise Stadium.

It was thrilling, unbelievable, heartbreaking and historic, which kept the crowd of thousands cheering all afternoon.

There was some scrappy football from both sides in the opening exchanges with the match being played up the middle of the field.

It was the Gurias who found their feet first.

Will it be the Gurias or Tigers?

It will be the four time minor premiers from Lae up against the Rabaul boys who are playing in their fourth consecutive grand final.

“We’re not going to change much in our game plan. Preparation is key. We just need to work on our preparation leading into the game,” said Tigers coach, Stanley Tepend.

Both sides met in last year’s grand final with the Tigers edging out the Gurias 14-8 in a thriller. Expect no less tomorrow.

Gurias beat Wigmen for grand final spot

The early part of the first half was played in the Wigmen's half. Consecutive penalties to the Gurias brought them within striking distance and they looked certain to score.

A charge down from Gurias halfback, Stanley Olo on the forty meter line saw him re-gather the ball and race away to score on the wing in the 13th minute.

Critics proven wrong

The Wigmen marched to a 17-10 triumph over the PRK Mendi Muruks in a match that was won in the last twenty minutes.

“We expected a very physical encounter and we put a good fight until the end.

“Many people didn’t think we would make it this far and didn’t think we deserved to be here. We had a point to prove and wanted to prove them all wrong,” said Puname.

He added there was still plenty to improve on this week before they take on the Agmark Rabaul Gurias in the preliminary final this Sunday at the PNG Football Stadium.

Tigers through to grand final

The reigning premiers put the pressure on the Gurias right from the kick off after forcing an error.

The first points of the major semi-final went to Tigers five-eighth Edwin Ipape, who sliced through the defence to score in the 3rd minute.

The Tigers continued to apply pressure and found the try line again in the 15-minute mark when an inside ball floated to a flying Enoch Sine, allowing him to cross over.

The Gurias were able to weather the storm and found their rhythm in the back end of the first half.

PNGRFL: 2017 Digicel Cup comp a success so far

Rau made this statement at a joint press conference between the PNG NRLC and the PNGRFL on Thursday.

Rau said the 2017 Digicel Cup competition has been successful so far this season.

“The Digicel Cup is the most important domestic competition we have. I thank the PNG NRLC for successfully running this competition this year under the new structure.

He said the PNG NRLC choosing to have the finals separate from the Intrust Super Cup made a lot of sense.

Wigmen surge home to 30-24 win

Two tries and a penalty conversion from Scott Francis pushed the Waghi boys out to a 14-10 lead at half time.

The Wigmen muscled their way back into the match with two tries in five minutes from Joseph.

The nail in the coffin came in the 71st minute when Stanford Talia crossed over to bring the score to 30-20.

Waghi Tumbe however, managed one last try right on the buzzer from Robert Koronus.

PNG Loop's Breakfast Bites

Hunters defeated at home


The SP Hunters seven game winning streak came to an end on Saturday night after being beaten by the last placed Tweed Heads Seagulls 14-10 at the National Football Stadium.

SMS marketing linking 2 million people in PNG

Tigers still undefeated

In Minj, the Wigmen def. Waghi Tumbe 22-12 while in Goroka, the Lahanis def. EPG Enga Mioks 38-14.

To the game in Lae, the Tigers def. PRK Mendi Muruks 16-4.

Across to Kokopo, the Gurias def. NCDC Port Moresby Vipers 22-14.

Round five to kick off tomorrow

Waghi Tumbe take on the Kroton Hela Wigmen At 2pm in Minj.

Up to Goroka, the Bintangor Goroka Lahanis will play host to the visiting EPG Enga Mioks.

Down to Lae, the reigning Lae Snax Tigers will clash with the PRK Mendi Muruks.

Across to Kokopo, the Agmark Rabaul Gurias will do battle with the NCDC Port Moresby Vipers.

All three matches are scheduled for 3pm.