Tarangau win back-to-back titles

Tarangau (2) retained their title in the men’s division of the Port Moresby Rugby Football League 9s after narrowly beating Hohola Flies (1) 24-22.

This was in the Cup grand final today at the National Football Stadium.

The Hohola boys raced away to the lead but Tarangau kept their cool, fighting back in the second half to edge out their opponents.

In the other results:

Men’s Bowl - Kone Storms (2) def. Tarangau (1) 20-12.

Men’s Plate - Royals (2) def. Wests (1) 10-4.

Women’s Plate - Port Moresby Souths def. Hohola Flies 20-8.

Woman’s Cup - Royals def. Paga Panthers 34-12.

The theme for this year’s tournament was ‘Lukautim Mama Graun’.

Chairman of the Port Moresby Rugby Football League, Dr James Naipao, congratulated all 48 teams (32 men’s and 16 women’s) that took part in the five-day tournament.

He also thanked major sponsor Mineral Resources Development Company for their continued support to the annual tournament.

(Tarangau 2, in red, narrowly escaped with a 2-point difference) 

Troy Taule