SP Brewery announces 18-man squad

The official sponsor of the SP PNG Hunters, SP Brewery, has formally announced the 18-man squad that will take on the Wynnum Manly Seagulls on Sunday.

During today’s announcement, SP Brewery managing director, Stan Joyce, said they had always believed in the Hunters.

As the official sponsors of the SP PNG Hunters, it was only right for SP Brewery to make the team announcement.

Managing director Joyce said the ride was quite rough during the beginning of the season, but then again, nothing in life is perfect.

“But what is perfect is if you really do believe in yourself, and you do find good leadership and keep the game alive and keep the belief in yourself,” he said.

“And over the last five years I’ve had the privilege of watching Michael (Marum) and the leadership that he has provided to your team. I’ve actually got angry with a few people who tried to get involved and disrupt that leadership.

“Because like everything in Papua New Guinea, with good leadership you can achieve anything.”

Joyce also commended the leadership of Ase Boas, and says he has no doubt that the team’s performance in the coming weeks will be nothing short of their best.

Joyce was proudly wearing a colonel’s hat that was presented to him as a token of appreciation from the SP Hunters players and staff.

Meanwhile, Captain Ase Boas expressed his belief in the power of sports, saying despite our country’s political differences, their win last year had united PNG.

“We believe we are going all the way. We have two more games to fix us up and we look forward to the finals coming up.”

Meantime, the 18-man squad will be taking the field for their final home game on Sunday at 3pm.

Residents are urged to fill the National Football Stadium stands and cheer their home-grown team to victory.

SP PNG Hunters team – Round 23

  1. Edene Gebbie
  2. Junior Rau
  3. Thompson Teteh
  4. Adex Wera
  5. Brendon Gotuno
  6. Ase Boas ©
  7. Watson Boas
  8. Enock Maki
  9. Wartovo Puara Jnr
  10. Moses Meninga
  11. Nixon Put
  12. Willie Minoga
  13. Stanton Albert
  14. Charlie Simon
  15. Ila Alu
  16. Rhadley Brawa
  17. Dilbert Isaac
  18. Mekenzie Yei

(Enock Maki receiving his jersey from SP Brewery managing director, Stan Joyce, today in Port Moresby)

Carmella Gware