Souths basketball league tourney begins

​The annual National Souths Basketball League (NSBL) 2017 tournament commenced today following the official launch at the Taurama Aquatic Centre.

The 11th Petroleum Resource Kutubu (PRK) NSBL tournament is scheduled from April 20-22 with 20 teams taking part; 10 female teams and 10 male teams.

10 teams have traveled from other provinces, mostly from Southern Highlands, to participate in the tournament. They include Sumale from Semberigi in Erave, Original from Mt Hagen, Oro Wing, KSS, Lakers and Kabuta from Kutubu, Joefnee Souths of Mendi, Poroua of SHP, Hagen development squad and Hela.

All other teams are Moresby based, made up of players from mostly SHP and the highlands region living in Moresby.

Petroleum Resource Kutubu has gained naming rights after sponsoring the tournament with K100,000.

NSBL patron Johnny Yawari said, when launching the tournament, that it has grown over the years with the increase of participating teams.

Yawari welcomed the teams to the tournament as they look forward to another successful competition.

Quintina Naime