Six debutants named in starting side

PNG LNG Kumuls Coach Michael Marum has named six debutants in a new look backline starting side for Saturday’s Oceania Cup Pacific Test opener against Toa Samoa in Sydney.

SP Hunters regular full back Terry Wapi will start on the wing, making way for Edene Gabbie at fullback.

Brendon Nima and Xavier Coates are the centres while the new halves combination sees Edwin Ipape at five-eighth and Kyle Laybutt at half.

The other two debutants – Zev John and Bernard Lewis – have been named on the extended bench.

The PNG LNG Kumuls team is:

1. Edene GABBIE

2. Junior RAU

3. Brendon NIMA

4. Xavier COATES

5. Terry WAPI

6. Edwin IPAPE


8. Enock MAKI

9. James SEGEYARO - Captain

10. Luke PAGE

11. Rhyse MARTIN

12. Nixon PUTT

13. Moses MENINGA


15. Zev JOHN

16. Rhadley BRAWA

17. Stanton ALBERT

18. Bernard LEWIS

Coach Michael Marum will confirm the final 17 an hour before kickoff at 7.55pm on Saturday, June 22, at Leichhardt Oval in Sydney.

The Test will be televised live on TVWAN Plus.

Press release