Records smashed at Swimming Champs

A number of national records were broken at the Theodist National Swimming Championships held over the weekend in Port Moresby.

Three age records were taken over the weekend by our 2018 Commonwealth Games swimmers in the 17 year age bracket.  

Leonard Kalate swam two 17-year-age records in his preferred stroke of Breaststroke: 50 Breaststroke 31.14 previously held by Ryan Maskelyne 31.34 set in 2016 and the 100m Breaststroke 1:08.60 previously held by Ashley Seeto 1:12.41 set in 2005, while his teammate Josh Tarere swam a fast 50m freestyle clocking 24.93, taking Andrew Vele’s 17 year age record 25.61 which has stood since 1991.

Seven Individual PNG Masters records were also swum.

In the 30-34 age group: 2018 Commonwealth Games swimmer Ashley Seeto took the 50m Breaststroke record 30.81, previously held by Adrian Morey 39.32 set in 1996, and the 100m Breaststroke 1:09.16, previously held by Tony Sari 1:37.25 set in 2005. 

In the 200m Freestyle Eamon Murphy clocked 2:50.15 and Alice Macphillamy equalled the record time of Tamara Green set in 2017 of 3:00.66. 

In the 35-39 age group Ryan Pini swam into the record books in 50m Butterfly clocking 24.47 previously held by Shannon Liew 28.50 set in 2016 and the 50m Backstroke clocking a finish time of 29.87, taking Ben Cullen’s record of 36.52 set in 1995.

The PNG Master Swimmers swam into the record books setting two new PNG Masters relay records: the 4 x 50 freestyle relay 1:47.77 with Ashley Seeto, Kevin Debruyn, Shannon Liew and Ryan Pini and the 4 x 50 medley Relay 1:18.39 with Ryan Pini, Ashley Seeto, Shannon Liew and Josh Wheeler.

65 swimmers representing the Lae Swim Club, Boroko Swim Club and PNG Masters Club took part in the Championship.

President of PNG Swimming Inc, Liz Wells said from Championship, 13 swimmers were added to the BSP National Aquatic Excellence Squad.

“The continued support and sponsorship received from Theodist Ltd towards the championships allows us to provide a professionally run national competition under FINA rules for our athletes to shine.”

Troy Taule