PNG dominates EAP men’s and women’s squads

PNG has dominated the East Asia Pacific (EAP) men’s and women’s cricket squads for next month’s 2017 Australian Cricket Country Championships in Wollongong.

The EAP men’s squad has eight PNG internationals in Jason Kila, Dogodo Bau, Kipling Doriga, Hiri Hiri, Nosaina Pokana, Pipi Raho, Alei Nao and Vagi Boko.

The rest of the squad is made of players from Fiji, Japan and Vanuatu.

The side is also coached by another Papua New Guinean in John Ovia.

The women’s squad also has eight PNG players- Helen Buruka, Sibona Lucy Jimmy, Ravini Oa, Kopi John, Konio Oala, Tanya Ruma, Pauke Siaka (c) and Veru Kila Frank.

The other players are from Japan, Samoa and Vanuatu. Coaching will be Eddie Mansale and Bebe Miyaji.

The Championships will run from January 3 – 11.

Photo credit: Cricket ACT Facebook page.

Troy Taule