Lae Tigers ultimate 2019 winners

The Lae Snax Tigers have been crowned the 2019 Digicel Cup premiers after defeating the Kroton Hela Wigmen, 15 – 4.

The Tigers were the better side this afternoon in Port Moresby, controlling the match from start to finish.

The Tigers were the first to post points with Kafare Amos running through traffic to score his first for a 4 – 0 lead.

The score would remain till the break with both teams showing determination in defense despite good attacking raids.

The Wigmen started the second half strongly and it was not long before tryscoring machine Gilmo Paul took on three Tigers players to level the scores at 4 – 4 .

That celebration was short-lived when a mistake after the kick-restart gave the Tigers the opportunity and they did not waste it with Amos scoring his second to take the lead again, 10 – 4.

A Charlie Simon field goal put the game further from the Wigmen before Enoch Sine crashed over in the right edge to hit the final nail in the coffin.

An emotional Tigers Coach Stanley Tepend attributed the win to the defensive efforts.

(Picture: Lae Snax Tigers Official Facebook page)

Cedric Patjole