Cricket PNG announces new National Selection Panel

Cricket PNG (CPNG) has announced the new National Selection Panel (NSP) for 2017.

The four-man NSP will be led by Daniel Faunt (Chairman of Selectors) with Taunao Vai (Selector), Navu Maha (Selector) and Dipak Patel (Head Coach/Selector) making up the panel. 

Faunt, Vai and Patel were retained in the NSP from last year, with Maha the only new member of the NSP.

Maha is a former Hebou PNG Barramundis captain and was the team manager for the International Cricket Council World Cricket League Championship matches against Kenya in the country last year.

Maha has played a major role in the development of cricket in PNG through his involvement with Port Moresby Cricket Association (POMCA) and Hoods Cricket Club.

 “We are pleased to welcome Navu Maha to the National Selectors Panel. As a past Barramundi Captain, he will bring a wealth of experience to the panel as well as his depth of knowledge of all aspects of Cricket PNG and importantly Port Moresby Cricket,” said Faunt.

The NSP’s first major task this year will be selecting the Barramundis that will tour Australia as a part of the Prime Minister’s XI fixture next week.  

 “Myself, Taunao Vai, Dipak Patel and Navu are looking forward to helping drive a busy program for PNG Cricket in 2017,” said Faunt.

The NSP will officially announce the Barramundis squad this week. 

Troy Taule