Athletics PNG names squad for Oceania Championships

Athletics PNG has named a final team of 36 athletes for the Oceania Championships at the ANZ Stadium, Suva, Fiji that will run from June 28-July 1.

The team of 24 male and 12 athletes is a very strong all-round team which will cover all disciplines of hurdles, long distance, jumps and throws in the open division as well as the traditionally strong PNG sprint and middle distance squad.

In addition to the open athletes, the team includes four junior girls and five junior boys.

The USA based contingent of Rellie Kaputin , Adrine Monagi , Poro Gahekave , Peniel Richard, Wesley Logorava, Robson Yinambe , Sharon Toako and Shirley Vunatup  all come into the Championships off a successful season and will join Gold Coast based elite athletes Toea Wisil , Theo Piniau and Nazmie Lee Marai who are also all in peak form.

The Team officials are: Nola Peni (Manageress), Head Coach Dior Lowry (hurdles and throws)   Coach Sprints and relays Allan Akia; Middle and LD coach Wilson Malana; with Phillip Newton  Jumps multi events.

The bulk of the team will travel on the Air Niugini direct service on Sunday June 25 and a smaller group on Friday June 23.

The squad:

Dior Lowry (HC)

Group 1 (Hurdles, Throws)

Debono Paraka


Jaqueline Travertz


Sharon Toako


Raylyne Kanam


Ephraim Lerkin


Mowen Boino


Adrine Monagi


Phillip Newton (TM)

Group 2 (Jumps)

Rellie Kaputin


Roland Hure

4x100m (U20)

Robson Yinambe


Peniel Richard


Wilson Malana (AC)

Group 2 (Distance)

Poro Gahekave


Simbai Kaspar


Abel Siune


Kaminiel Matlaun


Esther Simon


Tuna Tine


Martin Orovo


George Yamak


Allan Akia (AC)

Group 2 (Sprints & Relays)

Nelson Stone


Theo Piniau




Emmanuel Wanga


Damien Kotu

David Guka


Wesley Logorava


Charles Livuan


Toea Wisil


Letisha Pukaikia

4x100m   U20

Lawrence Lamond

4x100m     U20

Nancy Malamut

4x100m    U20

Lyenne Nilmo

4x100m     U20

Leeroy Kamau

4x100m      U20

Leonie Beu

4x100m       U20

Shirley Vunatup




Troy Taule