2 terminated from Hunters

Joe Joshua and Joe Frank have been terminated from the Hunters camp for alcohol related issues and continuous breach of team rules.

SP Hunters have also announced that William Mone and Jack Oii have been released from camp indefinitely.

As a result, Adex Wera and Brendon Gotuno have been named in the starting line-up for this Sunday’s Intrust Super Cup Round 9 clash against Townsville Blackhawks in Port Moresby.

Patrick Morea starts at hooker while Justin Yoka, Dilbert Isaac, Wawa Paul and Rex Kaupa have been named on the extended bench.

The 20 man squad is:

1. Bland ABAVU

2. Junior RAU

3. Adex WERA

4. Brendon NIMA

5. Brendon GOTUNO

6. Ase BOAS

7. Charlie SIMON

8. Moses MENINGA - Captain

9. Patrick MOREA

10. Enock MAKI

11. McKenzie YEI


13. Junior ROP


14. Justin YOKA

15. Dilbert ISAAC

16. Jordan PAT

17. Daniel TAPOL

18. Wawa PAUL

19. Gairo Kapana

20. Rex KAUPA

21. (Three to be omitted)

Coach Michael Marum will confirm the final 17 at the Captain’s Run on Saturday.

SP Hunters and Townsville Blackhawks will play for the Air Niugini Kokoda Cup which started in 2017 and is currently held by the SP Hunters. The Air Niugini Kokoda Cup commemorates the Battle of Kokoda as well as the direct flights between Port Moresby and Townsville introduced in 2017.

The game kicks off at 3pm on Sunday, May 5, at the Oil Search National Football Stadium.

The first game is the Digicel Cup Rnd 5 match between Hela Wigmen and Gulf Isou, which kicks off at 12.45pm.

Following the SP Hunters and T/Ville Blackhawks game will see NCDC Pom Vipers take on Mendi Muruks at 5.15pm.

(From left: Joe Joshua and Joe Frank – Filepic)

Press release