Reappointed Judges sworn in

The three Judges who were reappointed by the Judicial and Legal Services Commission for another term were officially sworn in at the Government House by Governor General, Sir Bob Dadae.

Their reappointments were announced on 23 May by Chairman of the Judicial and Legal Services Commission Alfred Manase, following a meeting on 15 May 2019.

Waigani based civil court judge, Justice Ere Kariko, whose term will expire on 7th July this year, was reappointed for another ten year term. 

Madang-based and human rights administration judge, Justice David Cannings, whose term will expire on 24 June was re-appointed for another three years.

An acting Judge, based in Tari who is in his second 12-month term that is to expire at the end of the year, Acting Judge John Richie Bernaud Kaumi, was appointed a substantive judge of the National and Supreme Court.

All three judges took their declaration of office, declaration of loyalty and judicial declaration before the Governor General, witnessed by the Chief Justice and other judges, including their families.

Sally Pokiton