PNG has three GG’s at present, says minister

Papua New Guinea currently has three Governor-Generals, says Minister for Sports and National Events, Justin Tkatchenko.

“We are in a very rare situation constitutionally, at this point of time where we have three Governor- Generals,” Tkatchenko said.       

“We have the acting Governor-General which is the Speaker of Parliament (Theo Zurenuoc); we have our current Governor-General (late Sir Michael Ogio) who is ‘lying in state’ and the incumbent Governor-General (Bob Dadae) who will be sworn in at Parliament next Tuesday.”

Tkatchenko, whose ministry is organising the State Funeral of the country’s 9th Governor General says due respect will be given to Sir Michael before the swearing in of the GG elect.     

“Very difficult situation and we cannot change the (swearing) date of the new Governor-General so we have to work around to see that each event are given due respect.”

The State funeral of Sir Michael will be held tomorrow before the casket is flown to the Autonomous Region of Bougainville for burial at Tinputz on the weekend.

The six year term of the current Governor-General who died while in office will end tomorrow. 

Charles Yapumi