Media awards nominations open

“Hear My Voice! My Story!"

This is the theme for the 2017 Media Awards on Excellence in Reporting on Gender Based Violence and HIV/and or AIDS.

Once more, nominations have opened to recognise efforts of journalists reporting on these issues, giving voice to the voiceless in order to bring about meaningful change.

UNAIDS and UN Women joint launched these media awards in 2015.

It was put as an incentive to encourage journalists to increase their reporting on the issues with a human rights lens.

These issues have disintegrated family units, societies and the nation as a whole.

Media has been a tool used for change in this area, with the greater responsibility falling on journalists.

The Awards basically recognises the power of the media as a tool for positive change in communities.

Award categories include:

1. Excellence in Reporting on Gender Based Violence (GBV)

2. Excellence in reporting on HIV and /or AIDS

3. Excellence in Communication

4. Excellence in Photojournalism

5. Editorial leadership

(Loop file pic)

Gloria Bauai