Manning congratulated on appointment

NCD-Central Commander, Anthony Wagambie Jnr, has congratulated Commissioner of Police, David Manning, on his confirmation to the highest ranking position of the Royal Papua New Guinea Constabulary.

“I thank the Marape-Steven Government, through the NEC, for making this appointment, where we had three acting positions of Commissioner and the two Deputies. This had caused uncertainty not only within the Constabulary but in the country and communities as well,” stated Wagambie Jnr.

“There can only be one Police Commissioner and two Deputies. It is the prerogative of the Government of the day to appoint, whilst following due process.

“I call on the rank and file of the Constabulary to give Commissioner Manning the support to ensure his vision for the Constabulary is met.

“We must support Mr Manning like we have done all these years for previous Commissioners of Police. We must serve with loyalty to the office.”

Manning’s appointment was officially announced at the Police Headquarters in Port Moresby on December 10th.

Police Minister Bryan Kramer, in his Facebook post prior to the event, said Manning is now 19th Commissioner appointed since independence.

“Manning joined the Force in 1997 as officer cadet at Bomana Police College,” Kramer stated.

“PNG’s first Commissioner was Pois Kerepia from Bougainville who was appointed in February 1976.” The Police Minister then listed the former commissioners of police:

  • 2nd William (Bill) Taiden, ENB 1977-79
  • 3rd Phillip Bouraga, Central 1979-82
  • 4th Henry Tokam, Simbu 1982-84
  • 5th David Tasion, Manus 1984-88
  • 6th Paul Tohian, New Ireland 1988-90
  • 7th Ila Geno, Central 1990-92
  • 8th Henry Tokam, Simbu (2nd term) 1992-96
  • 9th Robert (Bob) Nenta, WHP 1996-97
  • 10th Peter Aigilo, WNB 1997-99
  • 11th John Wakon, Manus 1999-2001
  • 12th Joseph Kupo, Simbu 2001-02
  • 13th Sam Inguba, Morobe 2002- 07
  • 14th Gary Baki, WNB, 2007-11
  • 15th Anthony Wagambie ESP, 2011-11
  • 16th Toami Kulunga, WHP 2011-2014
  • 17th Geoffrey Vaki, Central 2014-2015
  • 18th Gary Baki, WNB (2nd term) 2015-2019
  • 19th David Manning ENB, 2019-
Press release