How 7 different women save their money

Money is still a taboo topic.

You're not alone if you feel way more comfortable dishing out the details of your sex life to your BFFs than you are revealing how much you earn. But money — earning it, spending it, saving it — is essential, and just having a casual convo about ca$h could inspire you to take a good, hard look at your own financial situation. Seven women from around the U.S. shared how much they're making and how much they're saving — and why they're saving it.

1. A 29-Year-Old Registered Dietitian in Cincinnati, Ohio

"I put $50 toward retirement. I currently work in a hospital, so I also get a pension — thank goodness. Right now, I save $100 a month. I'm using most of the money to travel and visit friends and family. I'm also in a friend's wedding this year, so I'm trying to set aside money for bridesmaid responsibilities. I've been using an app called Goodbudget, which allows you to set up different "envelopes." You can allot a certain amount of money for activities in each envelope per month and then track spending as you go."

2. A 27-Year-Old Human Resources Manager in Chicago

"I put 10 percent of my salary into my company's 401(k). Other than that, I save about $1,500 a month. I'm primarily saving for two things: travel and retirement. This year, I'm going on a spring-break trip with my younger sister, and I want to go on a hiking trip with one of my best friends next year. Travel gives me gratification in the short-term, and saving for retirement ensures that I'll be happy and comfortable in the long-term."

3. A 25-Year-Old Biomedical Engineer in Irvine, California

"I contribute 8 percent to my retirement, which works out to $418 a month. I'm also saving $400 a month for my upcoming wedding and honeymoon to Tahiti. I even created my own spreadsheet to budget all of those expenses. After we get married in May, I'll continue building up my savings account for both an emergency fund and a down payment for a house. We're moving into my parents' house soon to save money on rent, so I plan on saving $1,600 to $1,800 a month with that change alone."

4. A 27-Year-Old Finance and Strategy Associate in Ann Arbor, Michigan

"I put $1,631 every month into my retirement account, and then I save $0. I'm repaying my parents for helping with my down payment for my mortgage. I closed on a house in May 2016 and my goal was to pay them back within two years. I'm also repaying my aunt, who helped me with tuition for my MBA so I didn't have to take out loans. I generally buy what I think I need — plus some great trips to Hawaii and Lake Tahoe — then pay back my family as I can. While it would be awesome to be debt-free, I know that it's just a few years away."

5. A 27-Year-Old Elementary School Teacher in Orange County, New York

"I save $200 a month in my 403(b) retirement plan. I was doing the maximum amount of $500 for a while, but had to lower it when my husband and I bought our house. I'm hoping to start my Master's Plus 30 certification soon and will move up in salary when I finish — so the plan will be to increase the amount I'm saving [per month] for retirement by another $100. I also save about $300 to $500, but it depends on the month. A lot of our savings has been going into our home renovation. (The home was purchased as a foreclosure so it still needs significant work.) On top of that, I save about $60 a month for additional classroom materials, teaching resources, or materials for classroom projects for the students."

6. A 28-Year-Old Senior Account Supervisor at a Digital Agency in New York City

"I just started a new job and haven't hit the point where I can participate in the company's 401(k) plan, but once I do, I'll start at 3 percent. Otherwise, I contribute at least $250 to my savings account each month. It's not as much as I'd like, because I'm trying to pay off $35,000 worth of college and credit card loans. Still, I want to be sure I have an emergency fund in case something happens. Any money I have left over from paying necessities, like rent, utilities, and groceries, goes toward paying off those loans."

7. A 27-Year-Old Operations Manager at a Startup in San Francisco

"My best guess is south of $1,000 a month. It's hard to tell because my work and personal expenses come from the same account, so it depends on when I pay my credit card bill, do my expense reports, and get reimbursed. Since the amount of cushion I have each month is really different, I usually just leave it. As for retirement, I have a new job, so I'm currently not eligible for employee-sponsored retirement account. I'm waiting for that before I restart contributing, but I used to contribute 6 percent. I'm subconsciously saving for either a rainy day or a down payment on a house, but not actively. I should really start investing in something."