Sungi retains Nuku open seat

Incumbent Nuku MP Joe Sungi has been voted to Parliament for his second term by his constituency in Sandaun Province.

The National Alliance Candidate was declared at Nuku Station this afternoon.

Returning Officer Francis Yawalan told Loop PNG that after the 7th exclusion, Joe Sungi was declared by collecting 11,112 votes.

Pangu Pati candidate Andrew Kumbakor is on second spot with 7,851 votes.

"Mr Sungi was declared at 2:22pm, the absolute majority is 10,599."

Nine candidates contested for the Nuku Open seat, and the runner up is the former MP for Nuku.

Charles Yapumi