Men dominate WNB elections

More than 60 men have nominated to contest the three seats in West New Britain this election.

According to the Electoral Commission’s nominations list, 69 men will be contesting for the Kandrian-Gloucestor Open (17), Talasea Open (33) and the WNB Regional seat (16).

Looking to retain the seats after being declared in 2012 are Kandrian-Gloucestor MP, Joseph Lelang, Talasea Open MP, Francis Marus and WNB Regional MP, Sasindran Muthuvel.

Marus and Muthuvel are both running under the People’s National Congress (PNC) Party banner, while Lelang is with the Coalition for Reform Party (CRP).

No woman has nominated to contest in any of the seats.

Cedric Patjole