Ipatas retains seat

​Enga Governor Sir Peter Ipatas has retained his seat this morning.

Ipatas reached the absolute majority of 50.1 per cent with 146,000 of the total allowed ballot papers of more than 300,000 votes.

The runner up Jeffrey Balakau secured 66,000 votes after the final elimination.

Meantime, THE party candidate Sandy Talita finished third with 65,000 votes.

Today’s victory will make Sir Peter’s 5th term to be elected into Parliament.

Meanwhile, the counting for Kandep, Lagaip Porgera and Wapenamanda are still in progess.

Election manager Anton Iamau says most of the seats are anticipated to declared by this afternoon.


(File picture)

Freddy Mou