COUNTING: Nuku’s progressive result – after elimination 6

Three final candidates are left standing after the 6th exclusion of the Nuku Open seat in the 2017 National Election.

Nuku Returning Officer Francis Yawalan informed Loop PNG that the final elimination process will start at 9am today to find which candidate will reach the absolute majority figure of 15,351.  

Candidates eliminated as of 6:30pm yesterday were; Kelly Waranguai (Independent), Nelson Kelly (PNG Party) and Adam Mensum Wangu (PANGU), Alfred Talis (Paradise Kingdom Party), Mauri Nemantu (Independent) and Matthew Suni (PNG National Party).   

The three remaining candidates are;

  Joe Sungi (Incumbent MP)   National Alliance    11,112
  Andrew Kumbakor   People’s National Congress   7,851
  Emmanuel Waimou Nasam   Melanesian Alliance Party   7,285
  Matthew Suni   Excluded
  Mauri Nemantu   Excluded
  Alfred Talis   Excluded
  Adam Mensum Wangu   Excluded
  Nelson Kelly   Excluded
  Kelly Waranguai   Excluded


Nine candidates contested the Open Seat in Sandaun Province. 


Check out Loop PNG’s Counting Tally:

Charles Yapumi