The Alliance boasts 47 MPs

Forty-seven declared Members of Parliament are under the Alliance formed to outnumber the People’s National Congress Party to create the country’s new government.

The Alliance comprises these parties; National Alliance, PANGU Party, PNG National Party, People’s Movement for Change, Melanesian Alliance, Coalition for Reform Party, Melanesian Liberal Party, PNG Party and Independents.  

According to a reliable source, the Alliance will depart Port Moresby for Kokopo today before Parliament sits on Wednesday, the first sitting for the 10th Parliament.

Fifty-six MPs on the floor of Parliament is needed to form the new government, and the source confirmed as of head count last night, the Alliance only needed 9 MPs more.

Meanwhile, as of 1pm yesterday, the Alotau camp, led by PNC Party, had 30 declared MPs.  

Charles Yapumi