T.I Stones champions of Hiri rugby league

T.I Stones are the 2016 champions of Hiri rugby league after their 18-14 win in extra time over the Tuhava Broncos in yesterday’s grand final played at the National Football Stadium.

The boys from Tatana led 10-4 at the break with tries to Linus Dick and Maru Kilina. The Broncos only four pointer came from Dairi Iageti.

T.I Stones pushed themselves further in front in the second half through a try from Sebastine Gaudi. This put the score at 14-4.

But the Broncos boys from Porebada village fought their way back scoring towards the end of the second half to level the score at 14-14, and force the game into extra time.

But it was the T.I Stones who took back the lead after sending in a charging Kilina over the Broncos try line to slam the ball down.

From here, the Tatana lads cheered on by their vocal supporters held on to win the match.

Troy Taule