Here's how it works:
A nefarious individual recreates a person's Facebook profile using their profile photo and "About" information.
Then, the scammer sends "friend requests" to all of the targeted person's Facebook friends.
Experts warn that someone could learn a lot about you by gaining access to all that's on your profile, like status updates, location, date of birth and photos.
They can also send messages to your friends, posing as you, in an effort to glean learn more about you, ask to borrow money or try to meet up with your friends.
If you get a friend request from an existing "friend," verify that the request is genuine before accepting it. And of course, be very wary of friend requests from people you don't know.
Furthermore, it's a good idea to tighten your security settings so that only your Facebook friends can view your profile, photos and other info.
Another suggestion is to go into the "Friends" section of your Activity Log.
At the top, it says, "Who can see your friend list?"
In the dropdown, select "Friends," rather than "Public."
The Better Business Bureau warned about this scam last year.