Olympic Champions Fiji to Host 2016 Oceania Sevens Championship

The 2016 Oceania Rugby Sevens Championship will take place in Fiji in November and for the first time the tournament will fully combine the men’s and women’s Sevens Championships.

The Championships will be held in Suva, at ANZ Stadium over two days, Friday 11th -Saturday 12th November, and will be the perfect lead in to the start of the 2016-2017 Men’s and Women’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series that kick-off in Dubai in early December.

This year’s Oceania Rugby Sevens Championships will see recently crowned Men’s Olympic Gold medalists and current World Rugby HSBC Sevens Champion Fiji participate for the first time since its Rio de Janeiro triumph.

The Championships will also see the Women’s Gold Medalists from Rio, and current HSBC Sevens Champions Australia, compete in the women’s championship.

The Men’s Championship will comprise ten teams playing in two-round robin pools with finalists determined on the pool play results. The women’s Championship will comprise seven teams playing in one round robin pool with the top team after the round robin declared the winner.

Fiji Rugby Union Chief Executive Officer John O’Connor said, “The Fiji Rugby Union is excited the Oceania Rugby Sevens Championships will be able to host the history-making Olympic gold medallists Fiji. It is special that Fijian rugby fans can see them in action at home in their first outing since the Olympic Games. I am sure the team will be excited also to play in front of their home fans.”

Oceania Rugby General Manager Cheryl McCormack said, “This tournament is key to the ongoing development of Sevens Rugby within the region. The continued, outstanding performances of our teams from the region in international events reflects the quality and strength of Oceania Rugby competitions such as these Championships.”
Oceania Rugby and the Fiji Rugby Union appreciate the ongoing support of the Fiji Sports Commission in bringing this event to Fiji.

The Oceania Rugby Sevens Championship also serves as a qualifier for non-core HSBC Sevens men’s teams into the Wellington, Sydney and Hong Kong legs of the 2017 Sevens Series

Teams for the tournament are:
1. Fiji
2. Australia
3. Samoa
4. Tonga
5. Papua New Guinea
6. Cook Islands
7. Solomon Islands
8. American Samoa
9. Nauru
10. New Caledonia

1. Australia
2. Fiji
3. Samoa
4. Papua New Guinea
5. Cook Islands
6. Tonga
7. Solomon Islands


Photo: ANZ Stadium Suva, Fiji. Venue for Oceania Sevens Championship