Olam: Award is for the fans

SP Hunters try scoring machine, Justin Olam says his award is dedicated to all rugby league fans all around the country.

Olam picked up the XXXX People’s Choice Award at last night’s 2016 Queensland Rugby League awards at Royal International Convention Centre in Brisbane.

This is the third year in a row the Hunters have won the People’s Choice Award since entering the Intrust Super Cup competition in 2014.

Olam arrived todayjust before lunch from Australia with CEO of the PNG Rugby Football League, Bob Cutmore and Hunters coach, Michael Marum.

“It’s a good feeling to have won the award. But I know there is still a lot yet left for me to achieve.

“This award is for the fans, thank you very much for all your votes,” said Olam.

Olam finished by saying that his advice for young rugby league players is to stick to the basics, have dedication, patience and the results will come.

2016 QRL Awards:

Cyril Connell Cup Player of the Year: David Fifita (Souths Logan Magpies) & Cory Paix (Toowoomba Clydesdales)

Mal Meninga Cup Player of the Year: Alexander Brimson (Gold Coast White) & Gerome Burns (Norths Devils)

FOGS Colts Challenge Player of the Year: Lane Ferling (Norths Devils)

Carbine Club Rookie of the Year: Jonus Pearson (Redcliffe Dolphins)

Struddy’s Leading Point Scorer: Darren Nicholls (Redcliffe Dolphins)

Struddy’s Leading Try Scorer: Jonathon Reuben (Townsville Blackhawks)

Club Championship: Redcliffe Dolphins

John ‘Cracker’ McDonald Minor Premiership Shield: Redcliffe Dolphins

XXXX People’s Choice Award: Justin Olam (PNG Hunters)

XXXX Representative Player of the Year: Jai Arrow (Norths Devils)

Match Official Recognition: Michael Wise (Origin Touch Judge); Clayton Sharpe (200 Intrust Super Cup games)


Troy Taule