Nine PNG swimmers qualify for finals

Nine PNG swimmers have qualified for the finals this evening.

Heading the push for precious metal are our golden fish Ryan Pini (54.21 sec) and Sam Seghers (56.09 sec) for the men 100m butterfly.

Seghers is the fastest behind Pini in this event.

Shanice Paraka (32.75 sec) and Anna-Liza Mopio-Jane (32.88 sec) for women 50m backstroke. Emma Terebo of New Caledonia was the fastest in this event with a new Games record of 29.86 sec. The previous record was 30.28 sec.

Akunaii Bobby qualified for the men’s 400m medley recording  5:28:38 sec. 13 year old Ebony Tkatchenko (2:23:87 sec) and Anna-Liza Mopio-Jane (2:20:91 sec) qualified for the women 200m freestyle.

Ebony's elder sister 15 year old Savannah and Tegan McCarthy have qualified for the women 200m breaststroke.

Barbara Vali - Skelton was disqualified in this event. Details on this are yet to be released by the officials. The finals get underway at 6pm today at the BSP Arena.

Quintina Naime