House Committee rejects vote of no-confidence

The Parliament this morning erupted into a fighting zone of words as the Speaker was about to make a statement regarding the vote of no-confidence against Prime Minister Peter O'Neill.

Regardless of  a Point of Order, attempts from the Opposition bench, acting Speaker and chairman of the Permanent Parliamentary Committee on Private Business Aide Ganasi did not entertain them.

Ganasi in his statement told Parliament that the motion lacked the number of signatures under section 145 of the Constitution.

According to law the number of signatures on the motion must be 11.

However, the Opposition has only 9 signatures on the motion.

Ganasi said the Committee had also established that Vanimo Green MP Belden Namah who is one of the signatories is currently suspended and could not take part in the motion.

The other MP the committee found who signed the initial motion on Nov 3, 2015 did not sign the current motion on March 22, 2016, is Morobe Governor Kelly Naru.

The committee further established that there was inadequate support for the motion to fulfill the requirement of section 145 of the Constitution.

“Therefore the proposed motion failed to meet the procedural requirements for tabling which on these basis, the committee rejects the motion outright,”  Ganasi said.

Ganasi further referred the Deputy Opposition leader and mover of the motion Sam Basil to the Parliamentary Privileges Committee for investigation for a possible breach of unauthorised signatures of the MPs.

Freddy Mou