Eight PNG swimmers qualify for finals

PNG’s golden fish Ryan Pini is among eight PNG swimmers who qualified this morning for the finals that will take place at 6 o’clock this afternoon.

Pini clocked the fastest in the men’s 50m butterfly in 24.58 seconds ahead of Tahiti.

Samuel Seghers also qualified in the 50m butterfly in a time of 25.51 seconds.

Savannah Tkatchenko qualified in the women’s 100m breaststroke on 1 minute,16 seconds while Barbara Vali-Skelton clocked 1minute,19seconds.

Ryan Maske and Askley Seeto qualified in the men’s 200m breaststroke event.

Anna-Liza Mopio Jane clocked seventh fastest in the women’s 50m butterfly and Stanford Kawale qualified in the men’s 200m medley. 

Pictured are men in this morning's hits.

Sally Pokiton