12 teams confirmed for National Soccer League season

Twelve teams are confirmed to take part in the Telikom National Soccer League 2015-2016 season starting in November.

For the first time, the competition will be played in a two tier format consisting of the zone conference league and the national league competition.

The 12 teams will play round robin matches for ten weeks in the Southern Conference and Northern Conference.

The Southern Conference comprises clubs from the Southern region and Northern Conference comprises of Momase, New Guinea Islands and Highlands regions.

Teams in the Southern Conference are Hekari United FC, Rapatona FC, Erema FC, PS Huawei FC, Port FC Moresby and Welgris FC.

Teams in the Northern Conference are champions Lae City Dwellers, Madang Fox FC, Goroka FC, Besta United FC, Gigira Laitepo FC and Admiralty FC.

Following the pool matches, the top two teams in each conference will come together to challenge in the national league competition to determine the grand final play off.

NSL board chairman Isaac Lupari said the two tier competition will cut down on travel expenses for the franchises.

Lupari urged teams to pay the nomination fee of K40,000 by 30 October and K35 for player registration.

He confirmed that negotiations are underway with the PNG Sports Federation to host matches at Bisini soccer grounds and Sir John Guise Stadium in Port Moresby.

Other venues are the Sir Ignatius Kilage Stadium in Lae, National Sports Institute in Goroka and Laiwaden Oval in Madang.

Quintina Naime