Sir Michael backs Toka Jnr

Grand Chief Sir Michael Somare has forged his full support behind Dadi Toka Jr for Chairman seat of the Motu Koita Assembly.

Sir Michael was among family members and supporters who escorted Toka Jr to nominate as a candidate for the Chairman’s Seat at the PNG Electoral Commission office on Friday, 31st August.   

Team Toka had a successful campaign launch at Hanuabada Village on Saturday, 1st September, where over 5,000 people from all Motu Koita Villages attended.

The Motu Koita Assembly Act was endorsed in 2007 by the Somare Government. 

The provisions of the Act apply to all matters relating to the people, villages, communities, customary land, resources and Government of the Motu Koita people of National Capital District.

The Motu Koita Assembly Elections is held every 5 years. They elect 17 members to form the assembly. 14 Council Members are elected from Pari Taurama, Pari Taoata, Kirakira Village, Mahuru Village, Korobosea Village, Vabukori Village, Poreporena Laurabada, Poreporena Lahara, Elevala Laurabada, Elevala Lahara, Mirigini, Tatana, Tatana Araira & Baruni Village.

One women’s representative from West Motu Koita and one from East Motu Koita.

The people of Motu Koita then all vote for one Motu Koita Chairman. 

The writs were issued on 30th August with polling on 2nd October.

Press release