Imbongu DDA members sworn in

The Imbongu electorate over the Independence weekend witnessed the swearing in of members of their District Development authority.

The MP for Imbongu and current Minister for Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology Pila Niningi took his time to settle his district administration conducting the Commission of Oaths for his DDA Members.

The ceremony at Walume District Headquarters, was officiated by the Senior Magistrate, of Mendi District Court, Raymond Tupundu.

The members include Member for Imbongu and Minister for Higher Education, Research Science and Technology Pila Niningi as Chairman, President of Lower Mendi LLG, Peter Kuna, President of Imbongu LLG Tapoiye Natil, CEO, Pius Puk, District Finance Manager, Tobias Wira, Lora N Embesi, Representing Women, Youth and Religion, Business Community Representative, Jerry Yaka and Jacob Wagowa, representing different Christian Denominations.

The ceremony held on Friday was witnessed by community leaders and the people from the entire district.

The sworn DDA Members publicly described the ceremony as the first of its kind in the political history of the district.

Meantime, Minister Niningi said the appointed members were selected through wider consultation with his political supporters based on their leadership at the community level.

He further appealed to his supporters and the people of Imbongu to understand the appointment processes of the DDA Members and limited nominee spaces available as required by the provisions of the Provincial and LLG Affairs.

Meanwhile the Minister said the DDA Member team was a balanced representation from the district, adding that he is happy that the first step towards his development plan has taken place through this swearing in.

Julianna Waeda