Grants for B’ville communities

Nine communities in Bougainville received grants in Arawa on Friday to support grassroots development projects.

The grants will fund water and sanitation, road, child counselling and farming projects based in Central and South Bougainville.

Grants up to K100,000 each were signed on Friday in Arawa and given to nine communities based in Central and South Bougainville, including Bana, Buin, Kieta, Siwai, Panguna and Torokina.

The projects are supported through Bougainville Community Grants scheme, a partnership between the Autonomous Bougainville Government (ABG) and Australia.  

Grants of between K5,000 and K100,000 are available to groups and organisations across Bougainville to support community-driven development activities that promote peace, security and cohesion.  

Grant recipients include Pakana Clan Group, St Chris Sipii Primary School, Lenoke Council of Elders, Bogisago Women’s Group, Pewana Village Water Sanitation and Hygiene Project, Konga Primary School-Bom, Baitoningka Road Project, John Roka Memorial School and Ukoto Women’s Group.  

Community grants provide funds for projects of four to six months’ duration.

Grantees are selected by the Bougainville Community Grants Committee, which is chaired by the ABG’s Secretary of Community Development and includes members from seven ABG departments and community representatives.

In November 2016, expressions of interest were invited. A total of 329 applications were received.

60 projects have been selected so far by the scheme’s committee and 30 currently under implementation.  


Press release