National Football Stadium

Tigers roar

The Tigers were on the board inside the first ten minutes through fullback Joe Joshua.

The visitors registered their first points when they opted to kick for goal.

They soon found the try line just minutes later when Sikeli Qauqau reached over to slam the ball down.

A successful conversion put the Aviators in front by four points.

But they let the Tigers back in when lazy defence allowed Mafu Kales to sneak in a four pointer.

Tarangau win back-to-back titles

This was in the Cup grand final today at the National Football Stadium.

The Hohola boys raced away to the lead but Tarangau kept their cool, fighting back in the second half to edge out their opponents.

In the other results:

Men’s Bowl - Kone Storms (2) def. Tarangau (1) 20-12.

Men’s Plate - Royals (2) def. Wests (1) 10-4.

Women’s Plate - Port Moresby Souths def. Hohola Flies 20-8.

Woman’s Cup - Royals def. Paga Panthers 34-12.

The theme for this year’s tournament was ‘Lukautim Mama Graun’.

VIDEO: Mead on NFS

He said in 2009 when playing for the PNG Kumuls the surface of the field plus the standard of facilities were not up to par but now the condition is more conducive.


Benny Geteng with more 

Wigmen surge home to 30-24 win

Two tries and a penalty conversion from Scott Francis pushed the Waghi boys out to a 14-10 lead at half time.

The Wigmen muscled their way back into the match with two tries in five minutes from Joseph.

The nail in the coffin came in the 71st minute when Stanford Talia crossed over to bring the score to 30-20.

Waghi Tumbe however, managed one last try right on the buzzer from Robert Koronus.

VIDEO: Vipers beat Tigers

Benny Geteng with more.

Hunters defeated at home

The visitors made their intentions known as early as the 3rd minute when halfback Michael Burgess spun out of a tackle, kicked for himself and scored near the posts.

With no Ase Boas, the Hunters struggled.

Poor ball control was again an issue for the Hunters who couldn't complete their sets.

The Seagulls hurt the Hunters at two minutes out from half-time after Damian Sironen crossed.

The kick from Lindon McGrady was good putting the lead out to 12-0.

Marum blames loss on undisciplined play

Hunters went down to Norths Devils 32-18 in round four of the Queensland Intrust Cup in front of 5148 supporters at the National Football Stadium in Port Moresby.

Marum admitted that it was undisciplined play from the team, especially during the first half and early in the second half, giving away four penalties.

“We got off to a bad start and we allowed four easy tries,” said the coach.

“Our kicks at the end of the sets didn’t go well, allowing the Devils to score 12 points in less than five minutes.

NFS launches Season Membership Packages

General Manager of the NFS, Lee Pokarop said the Memberships will allow the general public to be a part of the headline events this year in a manner never experienced in PNG before.

He said these events are:

-The PNG Hunters Intrust Super Cup Regular Season – 11 Games, and potential home finals matches.

-The annual Prime Minister’s XIII fixture.

-The 3 X Rugby League World Cup Games featuring our very own PNG Kumuls.

-The “One People” music Concert that will feature premium local and international artists.

World cup Paul Barrière Trophy to tour PNG

The Paul Barrière Trophy will tour PNG in months leading up to the tournament. 

The RLWC2017 is scheduled from October 26-December 2 and will be co-hosted by Australia, New Zealand and PNG.

RLWC2017 tournament partner, Oil Search, will take part in significant programs within the community with RLWC over the next 10 months.

This includes the Paul Barrière Trophy tour across the country where Oil Search will have the naming rights to the trophy tour.

RLWC2017 thanks PNG Govt

The RLWC2017 is scheduled from October 26-December 2 and will be co-hosted by Australia, New Zealand and PNG.

PNG will host national team Kumuls’ three pool matches at the National Football Stadium (NFS) against Wales (October 28), Ireland (November 5) and the USA (November 12).

RLWC2017 general manager commercial and marketing, Rohan Sawyer, said it’s an exciting year for rugby league in PNG.

Sawyer thanked the Government and Sports Minister Justin Tkatchenko for their support of RLWC2017.