Reshuffle in Ministerial portfolios

The new Minister for Communication was formally sworn into office this morning at the Government House by Governor General Sir Bob Dadae.

The occasion was witnessed by Prime Minister Peter O'Neill and other Government Ministers.

PM O'Neill also announced that Bulolo MP Sam Basil takes over from James Marape as the new Finance Minister.

Minister for Forestry Douglas Tomuriesa was also appointed as the new Leader for Government Businesses.

Rigo MP Lekwa Gure took over as the chairman of Public Accounts Committee from Iguan.

More update to come.

PM unaware of Marape’s resignation

The Prime Minister has advised that he will not make a statement until he receives an official letter from Marape.

O'Neill said this following formalities of the launching of the Boluminski Highway in New Ireland Province.

Finance Secretary Dr Ken Ngangan is also in New Ireland Province.

He could not be reached for comment.

Cabinet approves upgrade of national roads

Prime Minister Peter O’Neill, when making the announcement recently, said a properly developed and sustained national road network will contribute significantly towards providing the environment to grow the economy and improve social service delivery.

“Our current network is estimated to carry 89 percent of all nationwide passenger and freight traffic and ensures connectivity between transport modes,” he said.

“However, maintenance and rehabilitation funding have not kept pace with the requirements to properly sustain and replace aging infrastructure over past decades.

PM confident in new ministers

A total of 25 ministers were sworn-in by the Governor General Sir Bob Dadae today at the Government House in Port Moresby.

“There’s a good wealth of experience and young talent leaders who have come in to save our country in the next few years.

“I know that they will give it their best of ability to serve the nation and the people and today is the beginning of that.”

O’Neill said the first cabinet meeting will be held tomorrow to begin the work that is ahead of them to meet the aspirations of the people and the country.

​PM appoints full cabinet

They were sworn in by Governor-General Bob Dadae around 4pm.

The table contains the names of Ministers with their portfolios: