PNGRFL commends SP Hunters

Though they were doubted, the SP PNG Hunters’ inspiring performance ensured they stayed on until the last hurdle, where they finished seventh in the 2018 Intrust Super Cup competition.

The PNGRFL chairman, Sandis Tsaka, said the SP Hunters club displayed a high level of professionalism and culture during that period.

Speaking during the SP Hunters Awards Nite on August 30th, the PNGRFL chairman acknowledged the team’s tireless efforts, patience, passion and commitment during the 2018 season.

“The entire team has served the sport and country with pride and distinction, both on and off the field,” Tsaka said.

“And you have been the pride and great ambassadors of our sport and country.

“I also want to acknowledge and thank a few of the team members that will be leaving the team this year. A few of them have signed contracts overseas which will be announced in the next few weeks.”

Tsaka further thanked the SP Hunters staff as well as sponsors and partners who contributed towards making this year a success.

Meantime, Vice Minister for Sports and APEC, Wesley Raminai, reminded the SP Hunters players that they are role models to many young Papua New Guineans.

“I understand the season is over. We know you will be on holidays and have been given freedom to do what you please,” stated the Minister.

“However, you must continue to uphold the principles of an elite athlete because that is what you are.”

During the event, members of the team were awarded for their outstanding performances:


Best back – Junior Rau

Best forward: Enock Maki

Best defender – Moses Meninga

Top point scorer – Ase Boas

Top try scorer – Watson Boas

Rookie player of the Year - Edene Gebbie

Players player of the year – Rhadley Brawa

Clubman of the year – Joe Bruno

Coach’s Award – Dilbert Isaac

Chairman’s Bunara Award – Willie Minoga

Club milestone – 1st player – 100 games – Wartovo Puara Jnr

Club milestone – 1st player – 50 tries – Adex Wera

Club milestone – 1st player – 400 points – Ase Boas

Player of the Year – Stan Joyce Award – Nixon Putt

Carmella Gware