Digicel Cup: Three in, one out

Three clubs have been added while one has been omitted in the expanded 2019 Digicel Cup competition.

Central Dabari and Kimbe Cutters are the new entries while the Mt Hagen Eagles re-enter the comp after a two-year suspension.

They join the remaining nine teams which are premiers Bintangor Goroka Lahanis, PRK Mendi Muruks, EPG Enga Mioks, Giru Waghi Tumbe, Lae Snax Tigers, Kroton Hela Wigmen, NCDC Vipers, PRK Gulf Isou and Agmark Rabaul Gurias.

The Chimbu Warriors unfortunately have been omitted after failing to meet certain requirements set last season by the Papua New Guinea National Rugby League Competition (PNGNRLC) Board.

This includes the lack of improvement to the Dickson Oval in Minj despite it being part of the requirement of them joining the competition.

PNGNRLC Board Chairman, Adrian Chow, says they believe the decisions are made in the best interest for the growth and development of the game in the country.

He said the standards set in governance and administration will continue as they strive for best outcomes.

Chow added the Papua New Guinea Rugby Football League (PNGRFL) and the PNGNRLC Boards welcomed the new teams and encouraged the 12 teams to be good ambassadors for their sponsors and supporters, and be good role models.

The 2019 Digicel Cup Season is scheduled to kick off on Sunday April 7th, 2019.

(2018 Digicel Cup filepic)

Cedric Patjole