​Simon to captain PNG PM’s XIII

​Charlie Simon will lead the NGCB PNG Prime Minister’s XIII into battle this Saturday.

Simon’s appointment as captain of the team was announced this morning at a press conference in Port Moresby.

Present was Vice Sports Minister Wesley Raminai, the PNG Rugby Football League and naming rights sponsor – National Gaming Control Board.

Simon has led the Tigers to claim four consecutive minor premierships and has won two grand finals with the Tigers.

The Lae Snax Tigers halfback said it was an honour to be named captain.

“I don’t have much to say. Our actions will speak on the field.

“I believe and trust in the team and looking forward to leading them this Saturday on the field,” said Simon.

Coach of the team, Stanley Tepend, said Simon was picked in the PNG Prime Minister’s XIII back in 2015 but withdrew due to injury.

“Leading the Tigers for the last couple of years to the grand final is a credit to him and a good opportunity for him,” said Tepend.

NGCB PNG Prime Minister’s XIII team:

1.         Joe Joshua

2.         Brendon Gutono

3.         Stanford Talita

4.         Junior Rau

5.         Karo Kauna Jnr

6.         Jason Missian

7.         Charlie Simon ©

8.         Junior Rop

9.         Stanley Olo

10.       Dilbert Issac

11.       Tuvi Lepan

12.       Kato Ottio

13.       John Andy

14.       Sailas Gahuna

15.       William Mone

16.       Eddie Daffa

17.       Muka Peter Kulu

18.       Joshua Nani

Coach: Stanley Tepend

Team Management: Steven Nightingale, Roderick Puname, David Westley, Solomon Kulinasi, Leonard Tarum and Tim Rodgers.

The NGCB PNG PM’s XIII will take on the Australia PM’s XIII on Saturday at the National Football Stadium. Kick-off is at 4:30pm.

Troy Taule