PM appoints Caretaker Cabinet

Prime Minister Peter O’Neill appointed a Caretaker Cabinet on Thursday.

By virtue of the powers conferred by Section 148 of the Constitution, O’Neill appointed an eight men cabinet for a period of two weeks.

The eight including himself will run the affairs of the country before the first parliament sitting.

The eight include:

  • Peter O’Neill – Prime Minister & NEC, Bougainville Affairs
  • Charles Abel – Deputy Prime Minister, Treasury, Forestry, Civil Aviation, Sports and APEC, Lands and Physical Planning
  • William Duma – Petroleum and Energy, Housing and Urbanisation, Public Enterprise & State Investment, Transport, Agriculture and livestock
  • Sir Puka Temu – Public service, Education, Health, Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology Innovation
  • James Marape – Finance, Fisheries, Police, Works, Attorney General and Justice
  • Richard Maru – National Planning and Monitoring, Labour and Industrial relations, Trade, Commerce and Industry, Communication and Information Technology
  • Rimbink Pato – Foreign Affairs and Immigration, Correctional Services, Defence, Community Development, Youth & Religion
  • Johnson Tuke – Mining, Culture and Tourism, Provincial Affairs, Environment and Conservation, Climate Change

A full cabinet will be appointed later this month.

Meanwhile, Parliament will resume on August 22, 2017.

Freddy Mou