Komal appointed Deputy Speaker

Member for Nipa-Kutubu, Jeffery Komal, has been appointed as the Deputy Speaker of Parliament this afternoon.

Komal was nominated by Finance Minister James Marape and was seconded by Education Minister Nick Kuman.

The Opposition also nominated John Simon. He was nominated by Deputy Opposition Leader Sam Basil, seconded by Sinasina-Yongumugl MP Kerenga Kua.

After the secret ballot papers were distributed, Komal collected 57 votes while Simon collected 47.

A total of 104 secret ballot papers were distributed.

Meanwhile, the Parliament ha.sd been adjourned to Sept 26 at 2pm.

Freddy Mou