MP takes charge of Tourism Authority

The National Executive Council has appointed a new Tourism Authority Board (TPA) which will be headed by Camillus Dangma, Member for Parliament representing Kerowagi electorate in Chimbu Province.

“TPA has a new board under the chairmanship of Camillus Dangma, he’s chairman by virtue of the fact that he is the chairman of the Permanent Committee of the Parliamentary committee on Culture and Tourism,” outgoing acting Tourism Minister Charles Abel revealed last week.   

“The acts stipulate that he automatically becomes chairman.”

The new TPA board represents the different sectors that play a role in the tourism industry in the country.

The other board members are, Jackson Zabala representing the hoteliers industry, Betty Higgins (tour operators), Simon Foo (National Airline of PNG), Edward Uma (Financial institution), Andrew Abel (Tourists attractions), Robert Agorobe (Commuters and charter airline industry), and James Enage (Tourism development generally).   

As per the National Gazette, published on 6th January 2016, the TPA board members will serve for two years on the board.

Picture: Tourism Authority Board chairman Camillus Dangma.

Charles Yapumi