Goma named captain of PNG PM's XIII

Bernard Goma will lead the NGCB PNG Prime Minister's XIII into battle against the Australian Prime Minister's XIII this Saturday.

Goma was named as captain of the side by coach Michael Marum this afternoon in a joint press conference. The event was hosted at the Holiday Inn, which included Australian coach Mal Meninga and captain Greg Inglis.

Goma said the news of his captaincy was still sinking in.

"I'm still in shock. I'm humbled and at the same time proud to lead the team. I will do my best," said Goma.

The PNG Prime Minister's XIII:

1. Bland Abavu, 2. Butler Morris, 3. Justin Olam, 4. Konie Bernard, 5. Anderson Benford, 6. Ase Boas, 7. Mafu Kalas, 8. Bernard Goma (c), 9. Noel Joel, 10. Esau Siune, 11. David Loko, 12. Bradley Brawa, 13. Junior Rop, 14. Wartovo Puara Jnr, 15. Brandy Peter, 16. Willie Minoga, 17. Ila Alu, 18. Kingston Paul.

Troy Taule